Why am I doing this, I hear you ask?

IMG_1045

Over the last few years I have completed various personal challenges, all involving some form of triathlon based activity, such as swimming and running races, as well as a few triathlons. So far I have raised around £2,000 from these, but it has reached the point where it is harder to ask people to sponsor me for something I have already done.

So, one day in the car around Christmas, I was trying to think what I could do to raise some money this year, that would be both different, as well as personally challenging. After spending time in Chile in 2013, I knew it was one of the longest countries in the world, and an idea to do a year long challenge involving my two favorite things at the moment suddenly came to me.

When I got home I checked the length of Chile (on Wikipedia, what else http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geography_of_Chile) and worked out that 4,270 km worked out at around 85 km per week. Last year I probably did around half that distance in training and racing, but with a bit of a push it seems like something I can do this year – I hope!

I also wanted a way to track my progress, and decided to write to blog, which will cover off everything from my reasons for doing this, how the challenge will work, and then various (hopefully interesting) stories throughout the year.

So anyway, I hope you find this worth reading, and please stay tuned for more updates very soon!

Leave a Reply

