Music of the Month: January

Thinking about my blog while on the bike today, I realised if I am going to be looking at around 200 odd posts this year, things are going to have to vary a bit, rather than ‘wow, I ran 5k today…’

So I though I would start a new series of monthly, loosely fitness related posts – the first of these is going to revolve around music to work out to. To be honest, music is one of the most important things in exercising, helping keep the pace up when you start flagging, or slowing things for a warm down. But rather than narrow things down to individual bands here, I am going to go with different genres  I like and my thoughts on how effective they are for motivation.

Backdating for January (as I started this late) I am going to kick off with Indie. Growing up in the 90s during the whole Blur/Oasis thing, I never really seem to have moved on from this, and it is still probably the biggest genre on my playlists.

You want a nice, fast paced song- usually not much more than 4 minutes long – with a strong intro and a chorus that you can sing along with the earphones in (depending how much space you have…!) So without further waffle, my Top 10 Indie songs to work out to at the moment (in no particular order) are:

  1. The Strokes – Juicebox
  2. Maximo Park – Our Velocity
  3. Libertines – Can’t Stand Me Now
  4. Supergrass – Richard III
  5. Gaslight Anthem – 45
  6. Muse – Bliss
  7. The Bravery – No Brakes
  8. Boy Kill Boy – Civil Sin
  9. Bloc Party – Flux
  10. Ash – Kung Fu
Leave a Reply

