May Round Up: 360 km

In much the same way Partridge would describe The Archers, May was something of a mixed bag for the Chile Challenge.

On one hand I exceeded my target, achieving a football style 101% of the goal; I chalked up my first event of the year in the Stratford-upon-Avon Triathlon; and had a solid mix of activities, including some great trail & beach runs and a fantastic sea swim.

On the other I could have covered a lot more but lost about a week of training with a pulled hamstring after the race, leading to a frustrating and slightly worrying few days as to how long it would last. Thankfully it seems to have passed, and things now seem back to normal and ready for the huge events coming up, but more on them later…

Wine 1Wine 4

Returning to the Chile Challenge, I have now covered just under 2000 kilometers (or 1200 miles), which puts me well into the beautiful wine regions that lie around the waist line of the country. Chile has a fantastic climate for wine, with warm summers, good soil a long coastline and reasonable amount of rain. Apparently… at least that is what I have read. I will be honest I am no wine expert, but having visited the beautiful Santa Rita vineyard south of Santiago and sampled some of the local grape I can only agree that it is excellent, particularly the Carmenere which is unique to the area. My wife also feels the same (as evidenced below!)

Wine 3Wine 2

At this point I am getting close to halfway through the country, and should be hitting the capital in the next few weeks, so stay tuned for more updates in the coming weeks, with a full review of the first half of the year.

Leave a Reply

