Buddy Training Part Two

After the success of my first ever buddy run in Cornwall over the summer, I thought I would try to repeat the trick last weekend. Naturally I decided I had to step things up a notch, and what better way to do so than running with my lovely wife!

Now in the not  too distant past this would never have been an option to either of us: me as I tended to prefer do my triathlon training alone and had yet to experience the motivational benefits of having someone to run alongside; and my other half as basically she hated running! That is not to say she could not run, having done Race For Life a few years earlier and plenty of fitness from going to the gym 4 or 5 times per week, but in general she has always been more into group exercise classes or the odd bit of cross training than cranking out the miles on foot.

Eck Run 2

But during the summer – in a manner I am all too familiar with – she experienced a moment of madness and managed to convince a group of us to sign up for an obstacle race in the autumn (more on this to follow soon). This was a 5 km distance involving various hazards and obstacles, so she decided it would probably be a good idea to get a few miles under the belt before hand: As I have said many times before, nothing like entering a race to add a bit of an incentive to training!

We decided to do an early morning run on one of my regular routes near her family’s house in Yorkshire, winding around the streets,  up and down cul-de-sacs and generally exploring the area. The rule is basically, keep to the side and every time you come to a turning you have to take it, and as you can see from the GPS tracker below we covered most of the perimeter of the estate over a 6 km distance.

Eck Run 3Eckington Run AngeEck Run 1

I had been nervous before that she would hate it, but actually it went down really well. I was really impressed with the fact we kept going with no stopping, and it was a great confidence booster ahead of the obstacle race. Next stop – Ironman for two!?!

Leave a Reply

