Music of the Month: September

Running Musicracoon

Can I shock you? I have 101 songs on my iPod with the word ‘Run’ in the title. Wow…

How could I possibly know such an astounding fact? Well in line with my recent posts and upcoming half marathon, this months music of the month has a run theme, so rather than go with my traditional genres (indie, rock, soundtracks, etc) I decided to be more specific.

During my last session I noticed there were quite a few tracks on my playlist which specifically referenced what I was up to, so when I got back I had a quick shifty at the library and realised how many potential candidates there were. In fact it was even more at first, but it turned out I have a ton of albums with titles such as Running Trax (sic) which I had to exclude on principal.

So this month’s final criteria was Songs with Run in the title, that (perhaps more importantly) you can actually train to. And it is a real mixed bag! I am not sure whether to be proud or concerned at the eclecticicity (if that is not a real word it should be) of my collection: after all how often do you see Lioners on the same bill as The Maiden? So here you go, in alphabetical order:

  • Run to You – Brian Adams
  • Long Train Running – Doobie Brothers
  • Run to the Hills – Iron Maiden
  • Run for your Life – Jack Penate
  • Shoot the Runner – Kasabian
  • Running up that Hill – Kate Bush
  • Always on the Run – Lenny Kravitz
  • Running with the Night – Lionel Richie
  • Nowhere to Run – Martha & The Vandellas
  • Time is Running Out – Muse
  • On the Run – Pink Floyd
  • Run With Us – The Raccoons
  • Born to Run – Bruce Springsteen
  • Runaround – Van Halen

Leave a comment