Looking North

Wow this year is really flying by, as I realised the other day I had not even shared my 2022 race plans on here. After having such a great time in the London Marathon last autumn, I immediately fell into my usual “what’s next” spiral, and almost absent-mindedly entered the GNR ballot on a no-win-no-fee basis, and immediately forgot about it. Having been rejected numerous times before I had low expectations, but the next thing I knew an email turned up saying I had got a place!

With summer now rapidly approaching I also realised it is now just 3 months away, and whilst I am fairly comfortable in the distance, taking part in a prestige event like this – one of the largest half marathons in the world and a bucket list race for most Brits – always brings on a few nerves.

There is also the logistical side, in that Newcastle is a good 200 miles away from me, making it officially the furthest race I will have done to date. Regular reader[s] of this block may have seen I did spend some time by the Tyne a few years ago and had a few fantastic runs around toon, so I am really looking forward to getting back up there and sharing it on here. More to come soon!

Leave a comment